The Commissioners Bios

Belmont County has a three-member Board of County Commissioners that serve as the general administrative body for 86 of 88 Ohio counties; the exception being Cuyahoga and Summit Counties with its charter form of government.The Board of County Commissioners constitutes the chief governing board of Belmont County. Together they manage a large and diverse organization whose mission is to provide quality government services in an efficient, cost effective manner.

Powers and Duties of the Board

Matt Coffland
President of the Board of Commissioners

Matt Coffland currently serves as the President of the Board of Commissioners. Prior to serving as Commissioner, he was the Mead Township Trustee for 18 years and served as the President of the Belmont County Township Association for 9 years. Matt also served on the Belmont County Health Advisory Board was on the Ohio Township Trustees Association Nominating Committee and was a member of the Conflict Resolution Services for Government Officials. Matt Coffland is a lifelong resident of Belmont County, resides in Shadyside with his wife, Lisa; son, Matthew and daughter, Macy. Coffland is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, Shadyside Booters, Sons of the American Legion and Belmont County Farm Bureau.

Mark Thomas
Vice President of the Board of Commissioners

Mark Thomas currently serves as Vice-President of the Board of Commissioners. He was appointed to the seat on December 5, 2013, after serving as Commissioner from 2001-2009. Prior to serving as Commissioner, Thomas was a member of St. Clairsville City Council and was its Law Director. Thomas has previously served as a Board and Executive Committee member of the County Commissioners Association of Ohio and is currently on two of its government committees. He has a business degree from Kent State University and a Juris Doctorate degree from Ohio Northern University College of Law. Thomas is a practicing lawyer in St. Clairsville and co-owns the Ye Olde Alpha restaurant in Wheeling, WV.

Ginny Favede

Ginny Favede is a graduate of the Ohio State University, where she earned a BA in Political Science. She was recently appointed to a National Economic Development Committee of the National Association of Counties (NACo). Favede also currently serves on the County Commissioners Association of Ohio (CCAO) Board of Directors, serves as the vice chair of the County Commissioners Association of Ohio's Taxation & Finance Committee, co-chair of the Deferred Compensation Committee, Favede serves as the Chairperson of the Belmont County Records Commission. She is a 2010 graduate of The National Association of Counties County Leadership Institute and a graduate of the Ohio Municipal League Municipal Training Academy.

Favede is also a member of the following: Belmont County Transportation Improvement District, Belmont County Planning Commission, a member of Ohio Mid-Eastern Governments Association and Eastern Ohio Development Alliance. Favede has been recognized with the Patriot Award and the Freedom Award from the Department of Defense's ESGR for her work on behalf of employees in the military service. Commissioner Favede received the Ohio Public Images Merit Award for her advocacy on behalf of children with disabilities.

Favede is a member and a leader of St. Mary's Church where she serves as a parish council member, Eucharistic minister and has served as a Parish School of Religion teacher, past president and sustaining member of the Junior League of Wheeling, past president and member of the Ohio State University Alumni Club of Belmont County, and past president and member of the St. Clairsville Downtown Revitalization Task Force

Copyright © 2015 Belmont County, Ohio. All Rights Reserved. Home | Privacy Policy | Contact Us